top of page

Cinder: Book 1

Updated: Oct 9, 2023

I know I used to love fairytales when I was growing up. They were the ideal for little me in all the stories that my mom told me. As I grew, my wants from the stories that I was reading changed and I started to want a darker version. Cinder by Marissa Meyer does that. It takes the classic Cinderella story and places it in a futuristic, fanatical dystopia. The main character, Cinder, is a cyborg and lives with her step-mother, Adri, and her two step sisters, Pearl and Peony. Cinder works as a skilled mechanic at her own booth. One day as she is working, she meets the Prince, but hides that she is a cyborg since she is afraid of getting discriminated against. Afterwards, her stepmother tells her that she will not be going to the ball since they do not have the money for both her to have a dress and them to get a new part for their car. Cinder storms out and Peony follows her to help her calm down. They both go to the junkyard to find scrap metal, but Peony ends up catching a deadly virus. The med bots take her away. Cinder tries to go home, but finds out that her step mom has signed her up for a program that will surely kill her and will compensate her family for their loss. Though she tries to run, some med drones knock her out and take her away.

This book packs in a whole bunch of information really fast. It properly sets everything up and makes sure that everything that the characters do is logical. The dynamics that it creates and the hints that it drops keep you interested. One of my friends recommended that I read it and it lived up to their comments on it! I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

If you enjoyed this book, the next book in the series is, Scarlet. Other books like this one are: the Seven Devils series by Laura Lam and Elizabeth May, The Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas, and the Red Queen series by Victoria Aveyard.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page